AJAC’s Apprenticeship Occupations

As an Aerospace Joint Apprenticeship Committee (AJAC) apprentice, you will receive on-the-job training (OJT) during the day at an approved AJAC Training Agent (employer) and take classes one night per week at a community/technical college. You must be employed by one of AJAC’s participating Training Agents to enroll in our aerospace and manufacturing apprenticeship program. Upon completion of the program (typically two to four years), an apprentice receives a Journey-Level Certificate that is nationally recognized in their chosen trade.

AJAC serves a variety of industries in Washington State for apprenticeship training including, food processing, packaging and assembly, aerospace, maritime manufacturing, biomedical, defense, and space. Within these industries, AJAC has developed the following registered apprenticeship programs.

  • Rudy Mendoza
    Rudy Mendoza
    "I'm most proud of having the ability to machine now and have the certificates to show that I've completed the course and was able to follow through with something, finally!"
  • Ebonee Heller
    Ebonee Heller
    "In this industry, there are so many ways to grow and I'm looking forward to my next chapter! Who said this isn't a woman's job?!"
  • Rachel Talley
    Rachel Talley
    "I am proud to be the first woman at the Lighthouse to go through any of the Aerospace Joint Apprenticeship Committee (AJAC) programs. Today, I am a Senior Aerospace Production Worker at the Lighthouse’s Seattle facility making parts for The Boeing Company and other aerospace companies."
  • Raquel Taijito
    Raquel Taijito
    "I didn’t expect to progress because I didn’t know anything at all. Now I’m able to run CNC machines and manuals and actually figure things out on my own. Now I have more confidence in what I’m doing—I’m not afraid to ask questions or take on the challenge that is in front of me."
  • Brian Anderson
    Brian Anderson
    "Completing the AJAC Machinist Apprenticeship program—in my mind—is an accomplishment and marker of skills. I am proud to have these skills in my toolbox. They are tools I will use to build my future and it gave me something I know I can hang my hat on."

Registered apprentices benefit by:

  • Working full-time while training with a mentor
  • Earning a livable wage plus benefits
  • Earning college credit towards an Associate’s Degree that can turn into a four-year degree
  • Advancing more rapidly than other workers — high-paying jobs come more quickly
  • Only paying half of tuition costs for classes

All apprentices must meet these qualifications to be eligible for our program.

To find out how you can become an apprentice and launch your career in aerospace or manufacturing, visit AJAC’s Get Started Section.

Below are AJAC’s aerospace and advanced manufacturing apprenticeship programs and the Washington State locations they are offered.

County and City Apprenticeship Programs Location of Evening Classes

King County

  • Enumclaw
  • Renton
  • Seattle
  • Kent

Pierce County

  • Tacoma
  • Puyallup
  • Bates Technical College

Snohomish County

  • Arlington
  • Everett
  • Sno-Isle Tech
  • Arlington High School
  • Everett Community College
  • Edmonds Community College

Spokane County

  • Spokane
  • Spokane Community College

Benton/Franklin Counties

  • Pasco
  • Columbia Basin College

Yakima County

  • Yakima
  • Yakima Valley College

Grant County

  • Moses Lake
  • Big Bend Community College

Whatcom County

  • Bellingham
  • Ferndale
  • Bellingham Technical College